We would like to thank warmly the students of the University of Louvain who researched this issue in the framework of a collective project under the direction of Professor Olivier De Schutter in 2007-2008: Michèle Belmessieri, Laurent Coen, Amandine Englebert, Joëlle Froidmont, Olivier Lemahieu, Aurélie Priem, Myriam Verwilghen, François Pons, Bramerdorfer, Haberzeth, Naschenweng, Paolo Bonardi, emery Cleenewerck, Thierry Coomans, Guillaume Simonart, Pierre-Yves Thoumsin, Marie-Astrid Dembour, Lila Fernández Delgado, Anna Sussarova, Laetitia Vander Borght, Bahia Zrikem, Olivier de Cartier, Jennifer Jamin, Aline Pirlot and Antoine Woitrin. And again in 2020: Nicolas Avci, Sophia Babatzikis, Mujinga Banze, Louis Berny, Léa Damas, Elisabeth David, Diana Demande, Lisa Deprez, Chloé De Grelle, Lara De Gussem, Louis de Meulemeester, Ludovic De San, Alice Duquenne, Mathilde Fabri, Mustaf Gerguri, Marine Gouders, Justine Heine, Elisa Herivaux, Jean De Dieu Ininahazwe, Florine Parmentier, Marie Maréchal, Manon Martin, Anastasia Maxwell-Lawford, Sophie Mercier, Florine Quisquater, Dorine Schwanen, Alain Shamavu Wakanyanfe, Macarena Solís de Ovando, Manon Sperati, Thu Lan Vo, Amélie Vandermeersch, Eléonore Verdussen, Lucie Villers and Antoine Watelet.

Auteurs: Véronique Van Der Plancke, Valérie Van Goethem, Geneviève Paul, Elin Wrzoncki, Marion Cadier, Maddalena Neglia, Maria Isabel Cubides Sanchez, Sacha Feierabend, Ana Perez Adroher
Coordination: Geneviève Paul, Marion Cadier, Sacha Feierabend
Website : Julien Vivier
Photographs: Parker Mah, Daniel Lanteigne, Ruben Dao, Martin Dudek

Former and current FIDH interns Emy Laura Tapia Magne, Erika Carlig, Inès de Vulpian, Caroline Lemestre, Katia Roux, Natalie Tomlinson, Erin Foley-Smith, Isabelle Kawka, Jenny Joussemet, Arthur Croizier, Estela Casajuana and Faye Nzegang, as well as former CCR intern John Washington, Ford Foundation Public Interest fellow Rebecca Gerome and Harvard Law School Summer Public Interest fellow Keaton Allen-Gessesse also contributed to the writing and editing.

We are extremely thankful to the following persons for their careful reading and precious comments, edits and updates on the original version and/or later versions: Clémence Bectarte, Claire Mahon, Christophe Golay, Julie Gromellon, Samuel Dansette, Nicholas Lusiani, Tricia Feeney, Beatrice Vacotto, Emily Sims, Valérie Couillard, Solomon Ebobrah, Clara Sandoval, José Aylwin, Mario Melo, Patricia Canales, Kirill Koroteev, Nicolas Wevelsiep, Jonathan G. Kaufman, Jacqui Zalcberg, Emmanuel Daoud, Dalia Boudjellal and Vigo Avocats, Manuel Olle Sesse, Nora Fernandez, Sébastien Godinot, Anne-Sophie Simpere, Joanna Levitt, Johan Frijns, Kirk Herbetson, Robert C.May, Tea Soentoro, Bruce Purdue, Bart Slob, Ursula Wynhoven, Claire Methven O’Brien, Michel Capron, Isabelle Daugareilh, Emily Schaeffer, Michel Uiterwaal, Marian Ingrams, Joseph Wilde-Ramsing, Virginia Sandjojo, Makbule Sahan, Kirstine Drew, Filip Gregor, Matthias Sant’Ana, Kirill Koroteev, Matt Eisenbrandt, Kindra Mohr, Caitlin Daniel, Sarah Singh, Gabriela Quijano, and as well as FIDH International Secretariat and Board members Jimena Reyes, Tchérina Jérolon, Karinne Bonneau, Delphine Carlens, Natalia Yaya, Kate Coles, Raquel Vazquez Llorente, Andrew Songa, in particular to Katerine Gallagher, former FIDH Vice President and Senior Staff Attorney at CCR.

Thank you to past and present members of FIDH’s IT team.

We are grateful to all the individuals who in some way or another contributed to this project and in particular our translators and editors Christian Larson, Jonathan Andrew, Pascale Norris, Nadine Randall, Orsolya Kizer, Christopher Thiery, Fiona Prolingueheuer and Christine Andaya Wallace.

We would also like to thank former Sciences Po students Lillian Ysen Biørnstad, Babaka Mputu and Marzieh Shafieihanjani as well as their tutor Manon Aubry, who worked with us on the updated version as part of a joint project with the Science Po Law Clinic (Human Rights, Economic Development and Globalization project).

Finally, we would like to thank Olivier de Schutter for his support throughout the realisation of this project (at the time of conception Secretary General of FIDH), former Special Rapporteur on the right to food, of the UN committee Economic, Social and Cultural rights and current Special Rapporteur on Extreme Poverty and Human Rights.

This original guide was realized thanks to the support of the European Commission, ICCO - Inter church Organisation for Development Cooperation, the Finish Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs. This updated version was realized thanks to the support of Bread for the World and the Agence Française du Développement. The analyses and opinions set forth in this publication do not in any way reflect the positions of these institutions and are not intended to constitute legal advice. The sole responsibility for the content of this publication and for any potential and unintentional inaccuracies rests with FIDH.